India Development Review
India Development Review-Image

India Development Review (IDR) is India’s first independent online media platform for leaders in the development community. Our mission is to advance knowledge on social impact in India. We publish ideas, opinion, analysis, and lessons from real-world practice.


Articles by India Development Review


women sitting in a circle in sarees_gender roles

January 27, 2023
Gender attitudes in India: What’s changed and what hasn’t
Writer and professor Nivedita Menon and Founder-Director, CORO, Sujata Khandekar, discuss the challenges of shifting gender norms and attitudes in India, and the work that still needs to be done.
men loading bricks on a cart-mgnrega

January 25, 2023
MGNREGA: All you need to know
Does MGNREGA still have an impact? Learn about the scheme's funding, state-wise performance, role during the pandemic, and benefits to women and migrant workers.
an illustration of dogs wearing party hats against a yellow green background_nonprofit humour

January 9, 2023
Overheard at a nonprofit holiday party
What are parties if not a chance to vent?
Image of Ashneer Grover saying "yeh sab doglapan hai"-memes

December 19, 2022
Best memes of 2022: IDR style
What’s the point if we can’t laugh at ourselves?
slum in mumbai-city

December 16, 2022
Building liveable cities
Arun Maira speaks with Sheela Patel and Ireena Vittal about what the markers of a 'good city' are, how Indian cities are faring, and what they can do better.
a waterfall in iceland--mackenzie scott

December 9, 2022
The transformational impact of MacKenzie Scott’s funding
A report from The Center for Effective Philanthropy explores how MacKenzie Scott’s unrestricted grants to nonprofits are challenging philanthropic norms.
Illustration depicting a tree growing out from the head of a man burrowed underground-nonprofit humour

November 21, 2022
Flowchart: How to get funded in 2023
100 percent success guaranteed.
Numerous diyas and flowers-nonprofit humour

October 28, 2022
Diwali gifts for your nonprofit friends
Tired of the home-made diyas? Try this instead.
Illustration depicting three individuals speaking to each other-nonprofit humour

October 17, 2022
Sh*t nonprofits say: Part VII
Our target audience? Oh yes, it’s everybody.
Image of Seema aunty saying "I don't do a magical wish with a wand"-nonprofit humour

October 10, 2022
Sima Aunty as your nonprofit consultant
Why do we keep doing this to ourselves?
Load More