India Development Review

India Development Review (IDR) is India’s first independent online media platform for leaders in the development community. Our mission is to advance knowledge on social impact in India. We publish ideas, opinion, analysis, and lessons from real-world practice.


Articles by India Development Review


Comedian Biswa saying, 'neha do you like kanda poha do you want to have babies'-pandemic
Humour

January 18, 2021
Returning to work mid-pandemic
Don’t know how to react to this ‘new normal’? Turn to standup.
illustration showing two people cheering across computer screens_Rawpixel
Leadership & Talent

December 23, 2020
Ten team games for working remotely
It’s been a long year. Here’s how to help make the next few months a little more fun for your team.
Girl holding a basket of flowers
Gender

November 24, 2020
The rise of gender lens investing in Asia
The definition as well as scale of gender lens investing has expanded significantly. However, we still have a long way to go.
Man with laptop graphic_Rawpixel (edited by IDR)
Humour

October 19, 2020
Workshops we wish existed
In this time of webinars, masterclasses, and more, here are 10 workshops we wish we could sign up for.
Farmer looking at his field_Pixabay
Agriculture

September 24, 2020
The farm acts: All you need to know
In order to cut through the noise surrounding the farm bills, IDR has curated select articles and videos that explain the impact of these bills on farmers.
A statue of justice, blindfolded and holding scales
Advocacy & Government

September 21, 2020
Amendments to the FCRA 2020: Latest updates
A curated list of resources and information pertaining to the amendments of the FCRA 2020.
image of upside down emojis-nonprofit humour
Humour

September 14, 2020
Sh*t nonprofits say: Part IV
Now, more than ever, we need to constantly say, 'Now, more than ever'.
glass chess pieces_pixabay
Perspectives

September 9, 2020
We need new ideas and practices
The pandemic offers civil society the opportunity to reflect on some of its inner failings, and reframe its dynamic with the government and business.
Have you bathed today?
Humour

September 7, 2020
Nonprofit flow chart | Should you put on your video camera?
Experiencing Zoom call fatigue? Use this guide to figure out whether you should put on your video camera for your next call.
six matches in the sand and one is lit and burning-civil society in India
Perspectives

August 27, 2020
The social sector is facing an Armageddon right now
Ashish Dhawan on the long-term survival of the social sector, beyond the pandemic.
Harry Potter hogwarts letters_nonprofit humour
Humour

August 17, 2020
Get donor attention, guaranteed
Sending out cold emails to philanthropists? Here are 11 subject lines no one will ignore.
Kashmir_365 days
Social Justice

August 5, 2020
365 days without Article 370
A compilation of articles and resources, tracing the history of events in Kashmir, the abrogation of Article 370 and 35A, and the impact it has had on the everyday lives of Kashmiris, one year on.
Friends characters eavesdropping
Humour

August 3, 2020
Overheard in the social sector
Disclaimer: These quotes are fictional, but the feelings are real.
photo collage of sima taparia-indian matchmaking
Humour

July 27, 2020
#IndianMatchmaking: The nonprofit edition
Was this not the advice you were hoping for? You probably need to be more flexible.
Calendar_illustration_rawpixel
Humour

July 13, 2020
Nine work from home milestones
It's been more than three months since work from home routines began. How many of these milestones have you reached?
Audio cassette unspooled_pexels
Humour

June 8, 2020
Sh*t nonprofits say: At home
Instead of saying “this uncertain time,” what if we said “this uncertain OPPORTUNITY”?
The Seinfeld cast
Humour

June 1, 2020
My life as a series of Seinfeld moments
You know how over-the-top each character is and how exaggerated their reactions are? That’s me now.
cat asleep in front of computer_nonprofit humour
Humour

May 25, 2020
12 reasons I missed your webinar
Was it one of these reasons? Was it a mix of all of them? We can’t keep track.
covid_nonprofit humour_rajaravivarmamemes1
Humour

May 18, 2020
More memes for the quarantined
The present-day re-imagination of Raja Ravi Varma's paintings that you didn't know you needed.
The Office 'World's Best Boss' mug
Humour

May 11, 2020
TV shows with a nonprofit twist
What would Friends or House of Cards look like if they were based on the development sector?
feature_image_inthetimeofcorona
Humour

April 20, 2020
Comics in the time of COVID-19
Anushka Gupta's illustrations reimagine everyday emotions and activities in the context of the pandemic.
microphone-podcast
COVID-19

April 15, 2020
Listening to the pandemic
Six podcasts on the COVID-19 pandemic that you should be listening to.
Penny-Big-Bang theory_nonprofit humour_covid
Humour

April 13, 2020
12 signs that you’ve adjusted to being in quarantine
Maggi now counts as a legitimate dinner.
Humour

April 10, 2020
A new work from home dictionary
We decided to come up with new, more accurate definitions for some popular 'work from home' terms.
tom and jerry-FCRA
COVID-19

April 8, 2020
The government’s COVID-19 mandate to FCRA nonprofits
As per an order by the Ministry of Home Affairs, nonprofits with an FCRA licence must undertake and report their COVID-19 activities.
a construction worker in india_coronavirus_Wikimedia Commons
Livelihoods

April 7, 2020
COVID-19: Voices from the margins
A rapid assessment survey of the impact of COVID-19 on migrant workers paints a dismal picture. Here are recommendations for the central and state governments to alleviate the situation.
covid_workfromhome_nonprofit humour_feature image_fb
Humour

March 30, 2020
10 of our favourite work from home memes
Finding the perfect spot to work from is a real problem and no one can convince us otherwise.
they left me on read-hasan minhaj
Leadership & Talent

March 27, 2020
Five ways to manage teams while working remotely
As many people practise physical distancing, here are five things that managers can do to support their teams.
sanitay panels_nonprofit humour_feature image
Humour

March 23, 2020
Sanitary Panels | Eggshells for you to walk on
Comic strips on feminism, women in science, and more.
COVID-19
Health

March 16, 2020
The social sector response to COVID-19
From working from home, to what field workers and donors can do, here’s how organisations in India are responding to the COVID-19 pandemic.
India_in_the_New_Global_Reality_Economic_Summit_2011_nonprofit humour
Humour

March 16, 2020
Donors, how #OnTrend are you?
Wicked problems, big bets, Davos… Are you keeping up with the latest trends in philanthropy? Take this quiz to find out.
womens day nonprofit humour
Humour

March 9, 2020
Good morning, friends
This Women's Day, we found a way to sneak the radical notion of women's rights into your family WhatsApp groups.
tennis court and ball_jcomp freepik_nonprofit humour
Humour

March 2, 2020
Preparing for the annual donor meeting
Are nonprofits and donors talking about the same meeting?
angry email graphic_nonprofit humour
Humour

February 24, 2020
Email lingo, and what it actually means
How many of these are you guilty of using?
Radhika Apte "Excuse me"
Humour

February 3, 2020
Sh*t nonprofits say: Part II
"I chose nonprofits because I wanted a career more soul-crushing than teaching."
group of women with raised fists-democracy
IDR Explains

January 28, 2020
IDR Explains | Local government in India
In just seven minutes and five questions, get an introduction to local government in India—what it is, its structure, functions, sources of funding, and some of the challenges it faces.
Subhas Chandra Bose quote (nonprofit version)
Humour

January 26, 2020
If historic leaders worked in today’s development sector
This Republic Day, we're reimagining what it might sound like if India's most famous figures had to negotiate with funders or manage programmes.
Hasan Minhaj homecoming king nonprofit humour
Humour

January 13, 2020
The anatomy of a corporate crossover
Hasan Minhaj helps us chart the roller-coaster of emotions that comes with shifting to the development sector.
a smashed pinata_nonprofit humour
Humour

December 23, 2019
Pin the blame, and other party games
Planning an office party at your nonprofit this holiday season? We've got you covered.
Humour

December 20, 2019
2019 Wrapped: Nonprofit edition
A summary of your feelings and activities in 2019.
plain black background-feature
Rights

December 16, 2019
In solidarity
Explainers, reportage, and social media coverage of the protests against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, and of the state response that is violating citizens' human rights.
Policeman facing women in a protest march, Calcutta_gender based violence
Rights

December 13, 2019
What’s missing when we talk about gender-based violence?
A recap of #16DaysOfActivism at IDR.
question marks on a blackboard_nonprofit humour
Humour

December 2, 2019
Your new age nonprofit needs a new age name
You want to tell people you’re credible, while also ensuring you’re creating the right ‘vibe’.
Gloved hand holding a stained petridish
IDR Explains

November 12, 2019
IDR Explains | Randomised Controlled Trials (RCTs)
In just seven minutes and six questions, get a quick introduction to RCTs—how they work, why they're used, and what some of the criticisms and challenges around them are.
Diwali crackers vector
Humour

October 23, 2019
Diwali gifts: Nonprofit style
Move past giving generic Diwali gifts to your nonprofit colleagues. Here are some ideas to make the festival really special. 
Oprah WInfrey_what is going on_nonprofit humour
Humour

October 14, 2019
If talk-show hosts were panel moderators
Imagine how brutally honest they would be.
Philanthropy & CSR

October 8, 2019
Take part in #GivingTuesday
#GivingTuesdayIndia turns three today—here are some lesser-known facts about this global movement and five ways you can participate
Macro shot of financial concept
IDR Explains

September 25, 2019
IDR Explains | Impact investing
In just six minutes and six questions, get a quick introduction to impact investing—what it is, the size of the market, and how we can make the ecosystem more robust.